New York City is now paying 25% of imposed fines on commercial vehicles to people that record and report them idling for 3 minutes or more, or 1 minute in a school zone (private or public). This includes time spent dropping off or picking up your group.
Fines range from $350 to $2000. That means residents are getting a minimum of $87.50 per incident. All they have to do is film you idling on their cell phone and upload it to the government site.
We have reached out to the touring companies we serve to let them know that from now on, in NYC, the buses will have to be shut off when loading and unloading passengers, and they can’t be run for climate control when the buses are waiting for groups.
We understand this is most inconvenient and frustrating for everyone involved, but if you get a ticket for idling, that will have to come from your non-damage bonus. Please don’t idle the buses in NYC!
This is the law:
The New York City Administrative Code, Title 24, Section 24-163 establishes that no person should allow the engine of a motor vehicle to idle for longer than three minutes while parking, standing, or stopping. However, there are two exceptions to this rule. The exceptions apply to the following:
- Legally authorized emergency motor vehicles, and
- Vehicles whose engine is used to operate a loading, unloading or processing device.
In addition, the legal idling time is reduced from three minutes to one minute around public and private school facilities as set forth in the Local Law of the City of New York Number 5 for the year 2009.
Businesses in the construction industry, and commercial, cultural, and manufacturing establishments that own, rent, and/or use motor vehicles should become familiar with the Idling Regulations. Failure to comply with Idling Regulations might result in significant financial penalties, as set forth in the Rules of the City of New York (RCNY) Title 15, Air Code Penalty Schedule. Please refer to the links below under Additional Information to download the Air Code Penalty Schedule.